Held at The Queen's Club, London, The Aegon Championship was voted the ATP 250 Tournament of the year, 2013 and 2014. Featuring the world’s best men’s singles and doubles players, it’s the first chance of the season for most players to switch from clay to grass courts.

The tournament is also keenly watched as it’s known as a key indicator for Wimbledon - with 25 of the last 27 Wimbledon champions having played in it.

This year's tournament is shaping up to be one of the most exciting yet with top players Andy Murray, Lleyton Hewitt and Stan Wawrinka confirmed to play along with Grigor Dimitrov who is returning to defend his title.

Recent history of the Championships

Connors, Lendl, Edberg and Sampras are amongst the legends that have proudly lifted the iconic silver Championships trophy. Recent tournaments though have seen epic battles between Lleyton Hewitt and Andy Roddick – both have joined McEnroe and Becker as the only players who have won the Championship title four times.

Then, in 2008, Rafael Nadal beat Novak Djokovic in a thrilling final to claim his first grass court title in front of a packed centre court.

Following them, Andy Murray defeated James Blake to win the inaugural Aegon Championships and become the first British player in 71 years (since Bunny Austin in 1938) to win the title at The Queen’s Club in 2009.

In 2011, British No.1 Andy Murray won his second title at The Queen's Club in three years, after beating Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in a match that was carried over to the Monday due to rain delays.

In 2013, Andy Murray secured his hat trick of Aegon Championships titles by defeating the 2012 defending champion Marin Cilic and became the first Britain to achieve three wins at Queen’s since Sir Gordon Lowe (1913, 1914 and 1925). And of course, continuing the tradition of Queen’s being an indicator of Wimbledon success, Murray went on to victory there too.

The Queen’s Club

It’s part of the establishment now, but when it was established in 1886, The Queen’s Club was one of Britain’s first multi-sport clubs. A diverse club - as well as tennis, it still caters for squash, real tennis (the game from which tennis evolved) and rackets.

The Aegon Championships take pride of place though and are played out across 10 impeccably manicured grass courts. Andy Murray reverentially described these courts as ‘the best in the world’.

Established in 1886, The Queen’s Club was the first multipurpose sports complex ever to be built, anywhere in the world. The Club offers its Members the opportunity to play Lawn Tennis, Real Tennis, Rackets and Squash on some of the finest courts in the world.

The Club returned to Members ownership in May 2007 following a successful acquisition of a 120 year lease from the Lawn Tennis Association. The Club has been investing in its future and over the past five years completed projects include a new gymnasium, resurfacing of four artificial grass courts, refurbished Ladies Dressing Room, reinstatement of the Rackets Galleries and viewing areas, a new Terrace Room and the junior lawn tennis club to name just a few.

Simplified QC Logo RGB copy